Getting To Know Chris

photo of Chris

Inspiration often derives from things of importance. For some people it may be forms of passion, personalities, things of this earth, or ideas that seem simple to the artist and not to those who are outside their mental plain.

This up and coming artist that I am featuring on today gives us an inside glimps of where and what his inspiration derives from. I am a huge supporter of those who love creating opportunities for themselves. The saying is “if you don’t believe in yourself, then who will”. After meeting this young man I can truly say that statement is ever more of the truth.

Check out what all he had to say below and lets support him in his endeavors.

1. When did you first start singing?
Very early! Before I was allowed to be a part of the choir my great grandmother would play the radio broadcast and I would sing along.

2. What did your family do to encourage you?
My mom and siblings have been very encouraging in respect to my gift.

3. Who else in your family sings?
My brother. He’s actually working on an album. I have a host of aunts and uncles and cousins who all sing as well. I’ve never sang with them although I’d like to!

4. Who are your musical inspirations?
Anyone who knows me knows the clark sisters are my biggest inspiration! Also Jmoss, Brandy, and Faith Evans.

5. What kind of music do you listen to today?
Gospel. It is music that heals and keeps the mind. It provides peace and it is like the voice of a friend. Also some electronic and I love oldies like Motown. The emotions. Cheryl Lynn. George duke. And the leverts.

6. What embarrassing songs might I find on your MP3 player?
Sweet Brown -ain’t nobody got time for that

7. Where would you most like to perform?
I would LOVE to perform at an event for the gay community. I think because of how the church has treated the gays you never really hear gospel songs being performed at their events. I feel that encouragement and ministering is MOST important for the gay community. Their souls need saving too.

8. Who would you most like to open for?
Omg. Idk I’m such a nervous wreck and I get down on myself when it comes to other vocalists but brandy would be good. She has inspired a lot of what I can do vocally.

10. If you weren’t singing, what would you be doing?
Sleeping in my grave. No I also do fashion design!

11. Do you play any instruments?
None very well but a little piano and drum. Basic guitar. I’m yet learning !!!

12. If you could dabble in another genre of music, what would it be?
Alternative rock or country.

13. What genre of music can’t you stand to listen to?
There is nothing I won’t give a chance. But I despise any music that lyrically is built on things of no substance.

14. What hidden talents do you have?
Flexibility ? Is that one?

15. Do you enjoy writing music and/or lyrics?
Yes! It’s very hard but I’m always hoping that the message is clear and relatable.

16. Are there any current projects you are working on and if so can you tell us about it and what we are to expect?
I am working on a project that I started in 2009!!! Sad right ? I’ve been working on it for so long and at this point I refuse to give up. Funded by me and produced 100% by me. All the writing graphics everything all me. I never wanted it that way but I see God is using me in ways I never imagined to show me what I’m capable of by what He has given me. You can expect music with inspirational messages. Lyrics based on scripture and I even have written a few love songs. There’s something for everyone. Vocal instrumentation and beats that will make you turn it up!! You can look forward to the projects release by summer and a single released in spring. Thank you so much for the opportunity and for caring! Please everyone keep me lifted in prayer as I embark on this journey!

You may contact him by email at carinmoss39@gmail.com
twitter @CremeDe_Menthe
phone 716.983.1911

Jody K Young

Leave a Reply

